Portable Station Build – Part 2

Today I made more progress. I was able to paint the rack. I decided on a camo pattern since the box was sort of camouflaged. Not that I need it to be hidden, it was just for fun. I also mounted the top shelf.

Here is the rack with the radios and other things mounted.

A side view . . .

Top view . . .

View from the back . . .

The box with the rack inserted. The rack won’t be fastened into the box. I am going to be able to slide it in and out as needed. This will make working on things easier. It would also allow me to provide more airflow if it gets warm in the box during operation. I am thinking about putting a small fan in there somewhere. Not quite sure yet . . .

The box with the lid closed. The lid has an “O” ring around the top, making it water-resistant.

I don’t have anything wired up or connected yet. The space on the lower front portion will have a plate with antenna connectors and other things. That will be a project in itself. I’ll post again when I get more done.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Portable Station Build – Part 2

  1. Marc

    If you turn the green box round to the bottom you can use it as a table for writing in the logbook. Use something to set the box on and sit in front of it to relax during QSO.

    • When the lid is open, it would raise that edge of the box a little. Not sure how stable that would be. Most other people that use these types of boxes seem to have the lid on top like my pics. I’ll check it out though as the radio rack can go in either way.

Leave a Reply

